About the Council

The Council has 44 members, under the chairmanship of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, the Right Honourable Richard Wagner. Federally nominated Chief Justices and Associate Chief Justices of Canadian superior courts make up the Council. Since 1971, the entire team has been working to promote the excellence and independence of the judiciary. The goal of the members of the Council is to improve the efficiency and consistency in the administration of justice before the courts and the quality of services in Canada's superior courts.


As part of its mandate, the Council oversees judicial conduct and develops policies for the professional development of judges. In addition, the Council is involved in many other current issues.

Numerous committees have been created to meet the expectations of Canadians and include chief justices, other judges, experts and partners. These committees assist the Council in achieving its objectives through research, writing publications or collaborating on special projects.

The work of these committees is very varied, as are their structures. Some are ad hoc committees, created for a specific project, while others are permanent and have a specific number of members.

Below is a list of Council's current standing committees:

Members & Staff

In addition to the 44 members of the Canadian Judicial Council, a team of dedicated professionals ensures that the Council operates smoothly and efficiently.